The Iconic Anita with us no more.

The Iconic Anita with us no more.

Prof Anita interviewToday 10th August ’14 is her soyem. Please recite Surah Fatiha for her. Anita Ghulamali was always a larger than life figure, from the time I first met her when I was 14. Sizing me up, she then cracked a joke to make a shy, tongue-tied kid laugh. Regardless of age, she took a deep interest in people around her and left a deep impression on whoever she met, including me. She always make it a point to attend the screening of my documentaries and I am fortunate I got to film her over the last few years. My only regret is she won’t get to see my finished documentary on her. She was never short of stories to tell from her treasure trove of experience, from wearing so many official and unofficial hats throughout her career. Brutally honest – she snubbed many a corrupt politician – God knows how many tried to muscle her out – but failed. She fiercely taught and fought for students, deserving causes and people – right till the time her health wouldn’t permit her anymore. Day before yesterday afternoon, she breathed her last and left us tongue tied. Rest in peace Aunty. Undoubtedly thousands will remember you.

Leave a comment